Maryland’s Go Red for Women Director Receives One of the Daily Record’s 2020 Leading Women Awards


The Daily Record selected Caroline Hickam, American Heart Association of Greater Maryland’s Go Red for Women Director, to receive one of the 2020 Leading Women awards.

The Daily Record’s Leading Women awards honor women who are 40 years of age or younger for the accomplishments they have made so far in their careers. A panel of previous Top 100 Women and Leading Women winners selected the honorees based on their professional experience, community involvement and commitment to inspiring change. 

The Daily Record launched the Leading Women awards in 2010 to recognize the next generation of Maryland’s women leaders.

Nominees for Leading Women were asked to complete an application that outlined their education and career history; examples of mentoring, career-related officer and board memberships in professional, business or trade organizations; volunteer involvement in civic and nonprofit organizations; awards and honors; professional accomplishments; and commitment to inspiring change in their organization or the community.

“This year’s Leading Women are professionally accomplished, involved in their communities and committed to making a difference and inspiring change,” said Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, group publisher of The Daily Record. “They are the next generation of leaders in Maryland, and The Daily Record is pleased to recognize their achievements.”

Caroline strives daily to be a change maker not only in her role with the American Heart Association, but in her community service. Caroline is featured in this month’s edition of the Daily Record’s Leading Women’s Magazine, where you can read more about her story.

Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees!

2020 Leading Women Honorees

Margia A. Arguello, Johns Hopkins University

Emily E. Arneson, Kennedy Krieger Institute

Lauren Asghari, Alderson Loop LLC

Amy Basta, SECU

Dr. Hoda Bastani, Johns Hopkins HealthCare, LLC

Rebekah Brown, CPA, Maryland Association of CPAs/The Business Learning Institute

Sarah E. Brown, Hillman,  Brown & Darrow, P.A.

Kimberly Coleman, Baltimore City Public Schools

Rachel Druckenmiller, Unmuted LLC

Dr. Samantha DuFlo, Indigo Physiotherapy

Diana Mitchell Emerson, Junior Achievement of Central Maryland and HARBEL Community Organization

Garima Bhatt Handley, Higher Achievement Baltimore

Stacey Herman, Kennedy Krieger Institute

Therese McGucken Hessler, Ashlar Government Relations

Caroline Hickam, American Heart Association

Krista A. Hickman, CPA, CCIFP, KatzAbosch

Amritha Jaishankar, MSCRF/TEDCO

Bree Jones, Parity

Katherine Koustenis, Howard Bank

Ashlene Larson, Planit

Jessica E. McClain, Brand USA

Detra Miller, M&T Bank

Heather Murphy, Harford County Chamber of Commerce

Marlene Okojie, Sparksoft Corporation

Chelsea Ortega, Santoni, Vocci & Ortega LLC

Katrina Dixon Patterson, District of Columbia Government Department on Disability Services

Shaney E. Pendleton, All Walks of Life LLC

Sydney Stinson Powell, Department of Defense Consolidated Adjudication Facility (DoDCAF) Defense Counterintelligence Security Administration (DCSA)

The Honorable Emily Shetty, Maryland General Assembly

Allison Taylor, Kaiser Permanente

Brittany L. Young, B-360 STEM Education Program