American Heart Association Names New Maine Board President, Chair

Dr. Dervilla McCann, AHA Maine Board President

The American Heart Association (AHA) is the nation’s oldest, largest voluntary organization devoted to reducing cardiovascular disease and stroke risks. The AHA in Maine recently appointed new leadership for its Board of Directors.  Dr. Dervilla McCann, Chief of Population Health at Central Maine Medical Center, is the new Board President. Mindy Beyer, Quality Improvement Specialist with Maine Medical Partners – MaineHealth Cardiology, is serving as Board Chair.


New to the Maine Board are Melanie Tinto, Chief Human Resource Officer at WEX, and Dr. Melina Furtado, Ph.D., Associate Research Scientist at The Jackson Laboratory. Continuing Board members include:  Andrew Cook, VP, People’s United Bank; Catherine Desrochers, Account Executive with HUB International New England, LLC/ Norton Insurance-Financial; Nicole Hardy, General Manager of Pottery Barn; Kate Kearns, Board Secretary; Liz McGlinn, Lead Internal Auditor, LL Bean; Misti Munster, Attorney at Verrill Dana; Dr. John O’Meara, Cardiologist with Portland Cardiology;  Sarah Porter, Quality Data Coordinator with Maine Medical Partners -Neurosurgery & Spine; Eric Strout, Hannaford’s Fresh Operations Specialist and Levant Fire Chief; Richard Veilleux, Program Manager at MaineHealth; Linda Whitten, Manager of Human Resources at AAA Northern New England; and Dr. Brandei Wingard, Cath Lab Director, Southern Maine Health Care Cardiology.


The AHA also announced that two Maine residents currently serve on the Founders Affiliate Board which helps to drive achievement of the AHA’s public health, advocacy and fundraising goals across the six New England states, New York and New Jersey. Dave Abel, President and General Manager of WMTW-TV and Geoff Bruno, Superintendent of Falmouth Schools, will continue to serve on this regional Board.  Bruno also serves on the local AHA Board.

Leave a Comment