Dr. Kevin N. Sheth of Yale University to Receive the Stroke Research Mentoring Award at International Stroke Conference

Eleven scientists leading the way in stroke research will be recognized for their exceptional achievements during the American Stroke Association’s International Stroke Conference 2021. The illustrious group includes four groundbreaking scientists who have devoted their careers to stroke research, six authors of notable new research and one scientist recognized for outstanding mentorship. The virtual International Stroke Conference 2021, March 17-19, is a world premier meeting for researchers and clinicians dedicated to the science of stroke and brain health.

Dr. Kevin N. Sheth of Yale University will receive the Stroke Research Mentoring Award.

All honorees include:

  • Philip B. Gorelick, M.D., M.P.H., Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, will receive the Edgar J. Kenton III Lecture Award.
  • Marilyn J. Cipolla, Ph.D., University of Vermont in Burlington, Vermont, will be awarded the Thomas Willis Lecture Award.
  • Kevin N. Sheth, M.D., Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, will receive the Stroke Research Mentoring Award.
  • Takenori Yamaguchi, M.D., Ph.D., National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center in Osaka, Japan, will receive the David G. Sherman Lecture Award.
  • Bruce Ovbiagele, M.D., M.Sc., M.A.S., M.B.A., University of California, San Francisco, will be honored with the William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke.
  • David B. Matchar, M.D., Duke-NUS (National University of Singapore) Medical School in Singapore, a partnership with Duke University School of Medicine in Durham, North Carolina, will be awarded the Stroke Rehabilitation Award.
  • Katherine T. Mun, M.D., University of California Los Angeles in Los Angeles, California, will receive the Stroke Care in Emergency Medicine Award.
  • Alexander E. Merkler, M.D., M.S., Weill Cornell Medicine in New York City, is the Robert G. Siekert New Investigator Award in Stroke recipient.
  • Silvia Koton, Ph.D., M.Occ.H., R.N., FAHA, Herczeg Institute on Aging at Tel Aviv University and Sackler Faculty of Medicine at Tel Aviv University in Tel Aviv, Israel, will receive the Vascular Cognitive Impairment Award.
  • Andreas Charidimou, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, will receive the Mordecai Y.T. Globus New Investigator Award.
  • Xiaojing Shi, Ph.D. Candidate, Med-X Research Institute, Shanghai Jiao Tong University in Shanghai, China, will receive the Stroke Basic Science Award.

Kevin N. Sheth, M.D., the recipient of the 2021 Stroke Research Mentoring Award, is professor of neurology and neurosurgery at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The Stroke Research Mentoring Award recognizes outstanding achievements in mentoring future generations of stroke researchers in the field of cerebrovascular disease. Sheth is internationally recognized for prior and ongoing contributions across this spectrum in ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke. Embedded in these contributions is a highly effective mentoring style that has inspired many trainees to pursue a career in cerebrovascular investigation, service and leadership. He has been successful at recruiting and mentoring trainees from communities traditionally underrepresented in the sciences and women, which has been an important area of focus for him. The award presentation will be available in an On Demand, pre-recorded session as of 8 a.m. CT, March 17.

All award winners’ lectures/presentations will be pre-recorded and available for On Demand viewing to registered attendees during the 2021 International Stroke Conference starting at 8 a.m. CT on Wednesday, March 17 and ending on Friday, April 16, 2021.

Congratulations to Dr. Sheth and all of the awardees!