Area researchers receive awards at Scientific Sessions

Researchers from Boston, New York, Baltimore and New Haven, Conn., were among those recognized Sunday at the American Heart Association’s Scientific Sessions 2019 in Philadelphia. The Association’s Scientific Sessions is an annual, premier global exchange of the latest advances in cardiovascular science for researchers and clinicians. American Heart Association President Dr. Robert A. Harrington presented the recipients with the awards during the Presidential Session. This year’s session also included remarks by American Heart Association CEO Nancy Brown, and select song performances by theater stars from the Broadway hit Hamilton.

Distinguished Scientist Recognition
A select group of physicians whose innovations have led to far reaching advancements in the fields of cardiovascular and stroke research were given the Distinguished Scientist Recognition. Among those recognized from Eastern States were (pictured above) Dr. Mark E. Anderson, of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore; Dr. Deepak L. Bhatt, of Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston; and Dr. Costantino Iadecola, of Cornell University in New York. The recognition is the American Heart’s Association’s highest science honor.

Clinical Research Prize Award
Dr. Harlan M. Krumholz, a cardiologist and healthcare researcher at the Yale School of Medicine in New Haven, Conn., was given the Clinical Research Prize Award. He was recognized for supporting advancements that have made healthcare more effective, efficient, equitable, patient-centered, timely and safe.

In his acceptance speech, Krumholz credited the teams he has worked with over the years, saying: “Success is all about teams. I’ve had the honor and privilege of being a part of extraordinary teams, teams full of talent and energy and aspirations. Teams dedicated to generating knowledge that will make the world better.”

Dr. Harlan M. Krumholz

Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorshp Award
Dr. Louis R. Caplan, a neurologist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, was given the Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award. Caplan was recognized for his passion and commitment to training new leaders in the field of stroke neurology.

“(Caplan’s) exceptional passion and decades-long commitment to training promising young academicians deserves the highest recognition,” said Harrington

Dr. Colin P. Derdeyn, immediate past chair of the American Heart Association’s Stroke Council, called Caplan a “giant” in clinical stroke neurology.

“He has trained an army of leaders in the field,” Derdeyn said. “There may be no other living physician in our field with such a legacy. ”

Dr. Louis R. Caplan

Research Achievement Award
Dr. Peter Libby, a cardiovascular specialist at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, was given the Research Achievement Award. Libby was recognized for his pioneering work unraveling the role of inflammation in cardiovascular disease and helping to develop novel, new treatment strategies.

Inflammation was not considered a critically important contributor to atherogenesis prior to Dr. Libby’s investigations. “Indeed, the field focused largely on lipid metabolism and proliferation of smooth muscle cells when Dr. Libby began his independent research career,” said Dr. Jonathan D. Smith, professor of molecular medicine at the Cleveland Clinic, in a letter nominating Libby for the Research Achievement Award.

In his acceptance speech Libby said, “Despite it’s inevitable challenges, the career path of the physician investigator can provide unmatched satisfaction and the opportunity to advance knowledge and promote health.”

Dr. Peter Libby

Leave a Comment